Article Image
News Link • Internet

Private Browsing Mode Not Really That Private

• LiveScience
“Private Browsing.” “Icognito.” “Porn mode.” Since 2005, every web browser has added a feature that automatically erases any record of visited websites, cookies or images. For the most part, these modes do effectively hide user internet habits from other people using the same computer. But new evidence shows that dedicated attacks can retrieve the information. 

1 Comments in Response to

Comment by Ed Price
Entered on:

For the moment, the safer way is to find a company that has a server that does the Internet surfing for you. You log in to that company's server. From there that server goes wherever you direct it. All anybody ever sees is that you went to that server. Effectively, you are going through two servers, your own ISP and the "secret server."

If the "secret server" is in a place, country or location where its records are inaccessible, and if it does disc wipes on a regular basis without keeping any records of your visit, and especially if a lot of users go through that server, it may be impossible to sort out where you went.

The problems are that many websites are becoming aware of these "secret servers" and are blocking them. Also, as these servers become busy, they may not be able to handle all the traffic expeciently. So you may not be able to navigate through them to all the places you want to go.

http://www.dtunnel.com/
http://www.torproject.org/



Join us on our Social Networks:

 

Share this page with your friends on your favorite social network:


Stop Wars T-shirt at The Bitcoin Store