Article Image

IPFS News Link • Corruption

CREW releases second annual most corrupt members of Congress Report


Washington, DC – Today, Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington (CREW) released its second annual report on the most corrupt members of Congress entitled Beyond DeLay: The 20 Most Corrupt Members of Congress (and five to watch). This encyclopedic report on corruption in the 109th Congress documents the egregious, unethical and possibly illegal activities of the most tainted members of Congress. CREW has compiled the members’ transgressions and analyzed them in light of federal laws and congressional rules.

Two members have been removed from last year’s list of 13. Rep. Randy “Duke” Cunningham (R-CA) is now serving an eight-year jail term for bribery and Rep. Bob Ney (R-OH) has agreed to plead guilty to crimes that will likely result in a minimum two-year prison term.

CREW has also re-launched the report’s tandem website, The site offers short summaries of each member’s transgressions as well as the full-length profiles and all accompanying exhibits.

CREW’s Most Corrupt Members of Congress:
Members of the Senate:

Conrad Burns (R-MT) Bill Frist (R-TN) Rick Santorum (R-PA)

Members of the House:

Alan Mollohan (D-WV) Roy Blunt (R-MO) Marilyn Musgrave (R-CO) Ken Calvert (R-CA) Richard Pombo (R-CA) John Doolittle (R-CA) Rick Renzi (R-AZ) Tom Feeney (R-FL) Pete Sessions (R-TX) Katherine Harris (R-FL) John Sweeney (R-NY) William Jefferson (D-LA) Charles Taylor (R-NC) Jerry Lewis (R-CA) Maxine Waters (D-CA) Gary Miller (R-CA) Curt Weldon (R-PA)

Five Members to Watch:

Chris Cannon (R-UT) J.D. Hayworth (R-AZ) Dennis Hastert (R-IL) John Murtha (D-PA) Don Sherwood (R-PA) 

Agorist Hosting