Article Image
News Link • Space Travel and Exploration

Watch Live: Record-Setting Asteroid Flies by Earth

The day has come for our planet to get a cosmically close visit from asteroid 2012 DA14. The 50-meter-diameter space rock will make its closest approach to Earth at 11:24 a.m. PST/ 2:24 p.m. EST, at which point it will be only 27,700 km above the surface, less than one-tenth the Earth-moon distance and well within the orbit of geosynchronous satellites.
Wired will have live feeds from several sources all day long starting at 9 a.m. PST/12 p.m. EST. You can check back with us throughout the day as we update with the latest telescope views from observatories around the world. The first live show (above) is from NASA, which is streaming views from telescopes in Australia and Europe. NASA scientists will provide commentary of the event starting at 11 a.m. PST/ 2 p.m. EST and continuous coverage for several hours.

Free desktop streaming application by Ustream

Join us on our Social Networks:


Share this page with your friends on your favorite social network: