Article Image
News Link • Food

Do You Know These 9 Facts About Gluten?

•, By Edward Group

Fact #1: Gluten is…

…a naturally occurring protein composite found primarily in wheat, rye and barley, as well as some types of oats. Gluten consists of gliadin and glutenin. Gliadin is one of the proteins that forms gluten. Doctors will test for anti-gliadin antibodies if celiac disease or gluten hypersensitivity is suspected.[1] In celiac patients, the gliadin triggers immune response. Glutenin is the other protein comprising gluten. From a dietary view, gluten has only recently entered the human diet; it gives bread elasticity and strength. [2]

Fact #2: Not All Grains Contain Gluten

Corn, rice and certain types of oats do not contain gluten. These grains do not typically provoke a response in individuals with celiac disease or with gluten sensitivity.

Join us on our Social Networks:


Share this page with your friends on your favorite social network: