Article Image
IPFS News Link • Propaganda

Tempers flare as some in GOP ignore new House mask mandate

• The Hill

More than half a dozen Republicans refused to wear masks on the House floor, including Reps. Marjorie Taylor Greene (Ga.), Lauren Boebert (Colo.), Matt Gaetz (Fla.), Chip Roy (Texas), Andy Biggs (Ariz.), Mary Miller (Ill.) and Andrew Clyde (Ga.).

Most of the 211 House Republicans did comply with wearing masks on the House floor after the Capitol physician announced late Tuesday night that they would once again be mandatory amid spread of the highly contagious delta variant of COVID-19.

But Republicans who are among the House GOP's most vocal firebrands made a point of refusing to wear them. Roy forced a procedural vote on a motion to adjourn to protest the reinstated mask requirement, which subsequently failed largely along party lines.

"Consider resentment being magnified right here on floor of the House of Representatives. We are absolutely sick and tired of it and so are the American people," Roy said.