Article Image

IPFS News Link • Internet

SpaceX Starlink Version 2 Mini Will Have 4X Version 1.5 Capacity

• https://www.nextbigfuture.com, by Brian Wang

SpaceX Starlink V2 mini will have more powerful phased array antennas and the use of E-band for backhaul—which will allow Starlink to provide ~4x more capacity per satellite than earlier iterations. SpaceX should launch the first Starlink V2 mini tomorrow.

SpaceX intends to operate up to three different types of Starlink satellites in its Starlink Gen2 constellation. The first variant is likely identical to the roughly 305-kilogram (~673 lb) Starlink V1.5 satellites that make up most of its Starlink Gen1 constellation.

the Starlink V2 Mini satellite will have two massive 52.5-square-meter (565 sq ft) solar arrays and a 'wingspan' of around 30 meters (~100 ft) and weigh about 800 lbs.

SpaceX is targeting Monday, February 27 at 1:38 p.m. ET (18:38 UTC) for a Falcon 9 launch of 21 second-generation Starlink satellites to low-Earth orbit from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Space Force Station in Florida. If needed, a backup opportunity is available on Tuesday, February 28 at 1:49 p.m. ET (18:49 UTC).

The first stage booster supporting this mission previously launched CRS-26 and OneWeb Launch 16. Following stage separation, Falcon 9's first stage will land on the A Shortfall of Gravitas droneship stationed in the Atlantic Ocean.

SpaceX has built full-sized Version 2 optimal satellites that weigh anywhere from 1.25-2 tons (2750-4400 lb) each, offer almost 10 times more bandwidth than V1.5 satellite. Those will need to be launched with Super Heavy Starship.


www.universityofreason.com/a/29887/KWADzukm